Hospital Quality
& Safety
Leapfrog Fact Sheet
Indiana Hospital Survey Results
For more information or to become a sponsor, email:
Keith Reissaus, Leapfrog-Indy Rollout Chair
4145 Washington Blvd.
Suite 300
Indianapolis, IN 46205-2616

Phone: (317) 283-2780
email: nlamkin@sbcglobal.net
Indiana Employers Quality Health Alliance
IEQHA Major Initiatives
Leapfrog Hospital Quality & Safety Initiative

The Leapfrog Group is an initiative driven by organizations that buy health care who
are working to initiate breakthrough improvements in the safety, quality and affordability
of health care for Americans. It is a voluntary program aimed at mobilizing employer
purchasing power to alert America’s health industry that big leaps in health care safety,
quality and customer value will be recognized and rewarded.

Local organizations have taken responsibility for inviting hospitals in their communities
to complete the quality and safety survey, and IEQHA has been chosen to lead this
effort in Central Indiana.  A
Steering Committee leading this venture includes private
employers, the State of Indiana, the City of Indianapolis, the Indiana State Chamber of
Commerce, and the Indiana Manufacturer’s Association.  As a result of Steering
Committee efforts,
154 employers, representing over 550,000 lives, have signed on as
sponsors.  122 hospitals in Indiana will be targeted for survey participation in 2007.

As of 2/28/07, hospitals that have participated in the Leapfrog survey include:

  • Clarian Health: IU, Methodist and Riley Children's Hospitals in Indianapolis
  • Clarian West Medical Center in Avon
  • Clark Memorial Hospital, Jeffersonville
  • Community Hospital--Anderson & Madison County
  • Community Hospitals: East, North and South in Indianapolis
  • Deaconess Hospital, Evansville
  • Deaconess Women's Hospital of Southern Indiana, Newburgh
  • Decatur County Hospital, Greensburg
  • Gibson General Hospital, Princeton
  • Good Samaritan Hospital, Vincennes
  • Hendricks Regional Hospital in Danville
  • Howard Regional Health System in Kokomo
  • The Indiana Heart Hospital in Indianapolis
  • St. Francis Hospitals in Beech Grove, Indianapolis and Mooresville
  • Saint Johns Health System in Anderson
  • St. Joseph Hospital & Health Center in Kokomo
  • St. Mary's Medical Center in Evansville
  • St. Mary's Warrick, Boonville
  • St. Vincent Hospital and Women's Hospital in Indianapolis
  • Terre Haute Regional Hospital
  • Union Hospital in Terre Haute
  • West Central Community Hospital in Clinton
Leapfrog was established by
a group of large national
employers in response to the
Institute of Medicine Report
that suggested that from 48
– 98,000 patients die each
year in US hospitals due to
medical errors.  This group
focuses on 4 areas or
"Leaps" in which it hopes
hospitals will achieve a high
level of performance that
may be expected to reduce
this rate and improve quality
in specific areas.  Hospitals
self-report their progress
through annual surveys, and
their reports are then
displayed on the national
Leapfrog website.
Working to improve the quality of health care in Indiana.
Indiana Patient Safety Center
Announcement (5-10-06)
2006 Leapfrog Survey